"Play is an essential and rich part of the learning process"

We aim to ensure that each and every child has the best possible start to life.  At Peekaboo Daycare we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum.
The EYFS is a framework guidance that is followed and developed by every nursery team member, establishing a positive environment where all children feel safe, included and valued.  Every child's individual learning is nurtured, developed and extended through a range of experiences in play.
There are seven areas of learning and these are split into two groups.

Prime Areas:

  • Physical
  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional

Specific Areas:

  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics

These are all linked to work alongside the four themes of the framework:

  • A Unique Child
  • Postive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

Together they are used to develop and plan activities every day in order to help children strengthen their individual skills such as concentration, listening, learning to socialise and share, as well as to enjoy role play and creative activities.

The focus within our nursery is child-initiated play, however, our experienced nursery team support the children's play when needed and adult led activities are carried out with the children throughout the week.